Dreams of Death – by Jeff Prior

 

Dreams of death are nothing new,
I’ve had those dreams, you’ve had them too.
Sometimes death doesn’t sound so bad,
It can’t be worse than the day I’ve had.
A stain on my soul and a wound to my pride,
Sometimes I think I’m broken inside.
Troubled dreams and a restless night,
Another day, another pointless fight.

Dreams of death are nothing new,
I’ve had those dreams, I’ve lived them too.
Some days death strikes fear in my soul,
Everything ends, life takes its toll.
A pain in my heart and regrets in my head,
Do we still feel pain after we’re dead?
Troubled thoughts and a twisted dream,
Another day, another torn seam.

Dreams of death are nothing new,
I’ve had those dreams, I’ve denied them too.
Some things can’t be believed,
Some deaths are never grieved.
A lie on my lips and despair in my heart,
Is it too late for another fresh start?
Troubled past and a dark path ahead,
Another day, another toast to the dead.

Dreams of death are nothing new,
I’ve had those dreams, I’ve believed them too.
Some people think they’ll never die,
They live their life believing that lie.
A dream of tomorrow and a nightmare of yesterday,
Is there ever a winner in this game we play?
Troubled soul, and a dark cloud overhead,
Another day, another liar is dead.

© Copyright Jeff Prior. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment